Murray to face stiff competition

Andy Murray faces a tough test to retain his Aegon Championships crown

Andy Murray faces a tough test to retain his Aegon Championships crown

First published in Sport © by

Five top-20 players will challenge Andy Murray for the Aegon Championships crown at Queen's Club in June.

Murray won his third title at the West Kensington club 12 months ago before going on to lift the Wimbledon trophy.

Marin Cilic, the 2012 champion and the man Murray beat in the final last year, returns and will be a danger as one of only six men to have won two titles already this season.

Other newly-announced names include former world number one Lleyton Hewitt and crowd-pleaser Ernests Gulbis, who has made big strides this year.

The entry list is headed by world number six Tomas Berdych, although Murray could go into the tournament as the highest-ranked player with a strong performance over the next six weeks.

Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, Grigor Dimitrov, Kevin Anderson and Gulbis are the other top-20 entrants for the tournament, which starts on June 9.

This year's edition also marks the debut for tournament director Ross Hutchins, who took over from new ATP head Chris Kermode in May.

Hutchins said: "The Aegon Championships player entry list includes current champions such as Andy Murray, established stars like Lleyton Hewitt and exciting young talent in Grigor Dimitrov, Ernests Gulbis and Dominic Thiem, among many others.

"They will compete for a trophy at the Queen's Club that has been lifted in the Open era by Rod Laver, John McEnroe, Boris Becker and Pete Sampras. We can't wait for the tournament to get under way."


Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree